Never One to Let a Little Thing Like My Stature Get in the Way of a Project…

See that grayish-blue blob in the middle of all the junk? That's my mattress. Last Wednesday I decided to get it out of storage and bring it to the basement, where I'll eventually be staying.


This was where I took my first break. I'd hauled the mattress through three stalls of the garage and managed to not kill the dog or knock over my dad's moped.


I took another break here.


The point of no return. I started contemplating how much it would cost to do our laundry at the laundromat because if the mattress didn't go down, neither were we.


Owen was a little irritated with the entire process.


I accidentally stepped on Owen during this part. Then I took another break.


Finally. Now I just need to rearrange the entire basement and my room will be complete.

22 Responses

  1. Congratulations! Especially with that tight staircase. Personally, I think Owen’s lucky he only got stepped on once. That’s a big mattress!

    • I couldn’t move my fingers for the rest of the night — they were so cramped from lifting that stupid thing. Who puts stairs UP right before the basement?

  2. Yay for super dinky girl!!! :D

    You’z awesome. :)

    Adam

    • Gee, thanks. :)

      • You’re welcome, pocket Mel! ;)

        *Snigger*

        Adam

      • *snort*

  3. Just couldn’t wait could you. OH and what about the box spring or thing you have to put it on. Things that don’t bend just can’t make a turn at the bottom of the stairs.

    • I told you three weeks ago that it doesn’t have a box spring — just wooden slats that rest across the frame.

  4. PIVOT! Totally had that going on in the stairwell. ;)

    Love that basement rug. Well done, hoo!

    • I cannot BELIEVE I missed the opportunity to use PIVOT! What was I thinking? AND, it would have been much more enjoyable if I could have been yelling that the entire time I was trying to maneuver it around that corner. Man!

  5. WOW! You go girl!! That’s impressive ;o) That’s very intimidating to say the least! Hope the moving in is going well.

    • Erica, it’s coming along slowly. I can’t really unpack until I have my dresser set up, and I can’t get that on my own. At least not without breaking it, lol.

  6. Oh man! Mattresses are SO heavy, it’s insane! They’re dead weight, I swear, they’re awful.

    Congratulations on getting it down there!

    • Natasha, I was surprised at how easily it moved. It already had plastic around it so it slid on that — the trickiest part was keeping it vertical.

  7. LOL – I was thinking the same thing as Janna – Pivot!

    I’m impressed you did that all by yourself!! Seems like a big task1!

    • PIVOT!

      I’m so bummed I didn’t think of that. It could have been the title…

  8. Wow, I am not surprised. But then again I showed up once to help you move and when I got there you were mostly moved out and not a moment was spared in finishing the job. You never were one to wait around to have something done by someone else.
    I guess I got used to your go get’em spirit then, all the other moves you did seemed to make since to me.

    But I would have guessed you stepped on Owen more than once.

    • Penguin, that’s a good point. I look at it that I’m impatient, but when you combine that with an ability to actually do it, I see no need to wait. :)

  9. Geez, Melanie! I popped 3 disks just looking at those pictures. I’m with Owen. Arf! Arf! Arf!

    • LOL, Robin! He was NOT happy with me, then once I stepped on him he was afraid to come near me. A treat solved that.

  10. This was a great post! “The journey of a mattress.” I hate moving furniture downstairs!! I fall on my stairs too often. (The carpeted edge sticks out further than the step.) <— that's my excuse and I'm sticking with it!

    • I lived in a place with stairs like that. I was constantly falling on my butt.

      Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

